How to backup your Brushes in Photoshop

24 Jul

How to backup your Brushes in PhotoShop

Recently my Adobe PhotoShop CS5 x64 CRASHED on me! Just imagine my frustration when I found my 4 thousand+ brushes missing when I re-opened PS again…

So in this edition of Almost Humor’s Quickies, I’m going to help save you from allot of headache and teach you how to Backup, Save, & Reload your PS Brushes quickly, and   save you from a meltdown:

PS Brushes

PS Brushes Set

I happened to have kept all my brushes in a My Brushes folder, individually zipped & filed. So I began my one by one reloading each set of my brushes thru the PS Preset Manager. After spending all night reloading my brushes, I had the idea of creating a master set or backup of all my sets in one new set…so reloading again or sharing would be a snap!

Imagine my frustration when every normal attempt to do so fell flat from the preset manager. It didn’t work and selecting 100’s just for a PS refresh to wipe my selection clean the only other option was a sharp stick to my eye at this point…

So my life hacking search began, but I just happen to stumble on the perfect solution:
And with so many people writing in they’d lost their Brushes, Patterns, Actions or Shapes too after crashing Photoshop. Now I will show you not only how to backup your Brushes but also re-load them again.
After reading this you can use this way for creating and releasing your own Brush-Packs, too.

So, lets have fun with it :

  1. Open a new Document in Adobe Photoshop. The Size or type of the Document doesn’t matter. Just create the new doc, (with your presets to save time..)
  2. Now choose the Brush-Tool from Tools Menu/ and Right-click the (right Mouse-Button) anywhere on your open Document space. Click on the Arrow showing to the Right on the Brush menu. After that, skim your brush list for & click “Save Brushes” option in the menu.
  3. A new Window will open now. Choose the Place to save your brushes folder, wherever you want to save your Backup, name it “Backup” or whatever helps you know what it is(I date them m/yr & I don’t mean out to dinner & a movie either) Click on “Save”.
  4. Later, If you want to load your backup/brushes, click on “Load Brushes” in your Preset Manager located in the Edit menu and find your folder where you decided to save it in the last step.
  5. Rinse and repeat! so whenever you load more brushes you can now back them up for one swift intallment instead of 4000+ installs!!!

Hope this helps, and feel free to leave more helpful comments..

TIP: Find Your Brush path ( C:\Users\Whatever your user name is\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Adobe Photoshop CS5\Presets\Brushes )
I have even created myself a (Create Shortcut in win7) on my desktop using ” C:\Users\Whatever your user name is\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Adobe Photoshop CS5\Presets ” as the path so I can install pluggins, actions and brushes with ease…
Just a tip that may make your life easier aswell.

For those how want to know how to create a custom shortcut in Win click here:  http://support.microsoft.com/kb/140443

-BlotterMonkey
Robert Wilkinson
http://robertwilkinson.wordpress.com

What do YOU think?

